EAT JUST ONE

For all non-guitar instruments; mandolins, synths, kazoos, and anything else musical that doesn't fit elsewhere.

Moderated By: mods

DGNR8

EAT JUST ONE

Post by DGNR8 »

Assuming we have come a long way in pickup development over the past 40 years, if you were to only have ONE pickup in a guitar, what would it be? I have a later 70s Musicmaster with ONE single coil rout. I have a period correct pup, but I also have a Lil 59 HB. One of those, or door number 3?

Who has some favorites? I found one on ebay that is actually for sale locally. I don't know if he would stop the auction or not. It's a Burns TriSonic pickup by Kent Armstrong. This is the sales pitch. It sounds like a real FUCKER.

Original Tri-Sonics were favored by Brian May and Hank Marvin of the Shadows. Enclosed in a chrome cover, true to the original vintage design, the Armstrong 'Tri-Sonic' is a wonderfully unique sounding pickup that's easy on the eyes. The power and punch of a ceramic magnet is used to produce a sweet, full-sounding tone, characterized by tight lows, light mids, and airy highs. Somewhere between the quack of a single coil and the growl of a P-90

Or here is a Bill Lawrence tall strat looking thing:

The L-280 is for players that love the beautiful rich sound of a traditional single coil pickup without the tormenting 60 cycle hum -- but that's not all. What seems to be a tame, sweet pussycat at lower volume levels turns into a wild beast when you turn up your amp! Remember, high-volume players, like Jimi Hendrix and Roy Buchanan, did not use so-called "power pickups." The L-280's low magnetic attraction allows your guitar its full, natural sustain --even if you adjust them very close to the strings -- to enjoy their maximum performance! They easily compete in tone and in output with the finest single coil pickups ever.
Yell Like Hell
theshadowofseattle
THE TAMPA BAY HERO

Post by theshadowofseattle »

TWANG KING
Fakir Mustache wrote:Classic Shad Deluxe.