NBVID: Squier Bass VI...

Talk about all other types of guitars. Jazzmasters and basses go here!

Moderated By: mods

avj
A Select Individual

NBVID: Squier Bass VI...

Post by avj »

Received from Sweetwater this morning. Played it for about an hour at lunch and it's really something:

I went with full-quality image to show detail -- and channel robroe. Click image for bigness.

I recently started playing bass in a new band, but found for some damned reason I found myself unable to hack it on my Fender Jaguar bass, which I had used without issue in a past project. I conceded defeat and wanted to get a 30"-scale bass like a Mustang or Musicmaster, but the Squier Bass VI was announced and I decided to wait on it. Totally worth it.

I had my heart set on Oly White but went with black because, honestly, I didn't want to wait and it was the first available. I was looking around for a tort guard, and after seeing some examples of Pickguardian's nice red tort (including HNB's), I contacted them for a quote. Of course, they don't have a template yet so I'd need to send mine, which is not going to happen because I'm a big baby and don't want to have it sitting here unplayable while I wait. I guess I could sloppily cut one out of something to use temporarily, but I won't.

It arrived set up well (Sweetwater does an inspection/minimal setup), with the exception of a buzzy G where the string was making contact with the intonation adjustment screw; I backed out the screw a bit just to rid the buzz and it was fine. I don't intend on keeping these strings or the stock bridge on for long as I have a Staytrem bridge en route and a few different string sets I'd like to try as well, with the La Bella flatwounds being the likely favorite. I think the bridge cover will have to go bye-bye as I don't think it'll fit on the Staytrem.