Synth Question

For all non-guitar instruments; mandolins, synths, kazoos, and anything else musical that doesn't fit elsewhere.

Moderated By: mods

Fran
The Curmudgeon

Synth Question

Post by Fran »

I was looking at these M-Audio Synths and wondered why they have dropped to such a cheap price?

This guy states a few 'might be' problems but on the whole it sounds good..
[youtube][/youtube]
laterallateral
Traynor or Death

Post by laterallateral »

I have no first hand experience and I assume you and I have read much of the same things concerning software stability, especially with user patches where the programmed values drift sporadically during performance or save wrong. This pretty worrying ONLY if you're considering one of these for live purposes, IMHO. In the studio, as long as frequent MIDI dumps are made, these problems would add up to little more than a few minutes of lost productivity and minor annoyances, which is NOTHING if you consider how cheap these are and how good they sound.

EDIT: Apparently there are also manufacturing issues with the case and the keys apparently "feeling cheap". Again, not something I would worry about too much if the thing never left my house.
Fran
The Curmudgeon

Post by Fran »

Thanks for the input. :)
It would be for home use, but I do intend to incorporate it into live use eventually, albeit in a laymans way. Damn tempting, considering other gear in this price range. Korg Monotribes aren't much cheaper.
lorez

Post by lorez »

are you looking at the cost on thomann as they seemed to drop the price to about £170. They are very good synths by all accounts & I was tempted to buy one, in fact if the price of dropped when I bought the R3 I would of got it in a snap. From what I can tell the price drop is due to the parent company breaking the sub companies apart and also its to do with distribution in Europe. Thomann was the first to drop and the UK sites had to drop as a response.