ShortScale Forum Index www.shortscale.org
Head 'n Neck Above
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UploaderUploader   ShortScale WikiBuilder

3 way switch on wiring options

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Guitar Projects and Tech/Set-up
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
YuriK
.
.


Joined: 12 Dec 2013
Posts: 2344
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:11 am    Post subject: 3 way switch on wiring options Reply with quote

I was thinking of putting in a three way switch and wiring my guitar so that i can switch between regular wiring, standby and 50s wiring. Would this work and how would i go about doing it cuz Im really sure how to do it. I have an idea, but im not sure.
_________________
Beau In Space wrote:
I hear this guy uses a capo.

Josh wrote:
THATS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU POUR WINE ON IT INSTEAD OF BEER.

euan wrote:
stop trying to put guitar mojo arrows on yuri's dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theshadowofseattle
THE TAMPA BAY HERO


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 62472
Location: Skrampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think circuits work like you think they do.
_________________
gusman2x wrote:
wizard thickness

George wrote:
Yeah, thickness, nut
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YuriK
.
.


Joined: 12 Dec 2013
Posts: 2344
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nothing ever works like I think it does...
_________________
Beau In Space wrote:
I hear this guy uses a capo.

Josh wrote:
THATS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU POUR WINE ON IT INSTEAD OF BEER.

euan wrote:
stop trying to put guitar mojo arrows on yuri's dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theshadowofseattle
THE TAMPA BAY HERO


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 62472
Location: Skrampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly is the guitar you're trying to modify? What do you mean by 50's wiring? Regular? By "standby" do you mean no signal?

NEEDS MORE INFO.
_________________
gusman2x wrote:
wizard thickness

George wrote:
Yeah, thickness, nut
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YuriK
.
.


Joined: 12 Dec 2013
Posts: 2344
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just asked my electritition father and he said it should work, hed just have to see it. Couldn't i put the switch from the output of the tone pot and have one wire going to the input of the volume and one to the output?
_________________
Beau In Space wrote:
I hear this guy uses a capo.

Josh wrote:
THATS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU POUR WINE ON IT INSTEAD OF BEER.

euan wrote:
stop trying to put guitar mojo arrows on yuri's dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YuriK
.
.


Joined: 12 Dec 2013
Posts: 2344
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

theshadowofseattle wrote:
What exactly is the guitar you're trying to modify? What do you mean by 50's wiring? Regular? By "standby" do you mean no signal?

NEEDS MORE INFO.


sorry, its a jaguar modern player. It's stock right now. By fifties i mean tone output to volume output, by standby i do mean no signal and by regular i mean tone output to volume input
_________________
Beau In Space wrote:
I hear this guy uses a capo.

Josh wrote:
THATS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU POUR WINE ON IT INSTEAD OF BEER.

euan wrote:
stop trying to put guitar mojo arrows on yuri's dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theshadowofseattle
THE TAMPA BAY HERO


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 62472
Location: Skrampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So all you actually want is a switch to take the volume out of the circuit? Shit dude, that's easily doable.

As for incorporating a third option into the same switch of sending no signal anywhere, I'm not sure. It'd be more practical to have a separate killswitch, I think.
_________________
gusman2x wrote:
wizard thickness

George wrote:
Yeah, thickness, nut
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YuriK
.
.


Joined: 12 Dec 2013
Posts: 2344
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, not put the volume out of the circuit, but to switch the volume and tone from series to parallel, and I just thought the standby had to be there so i didn't get a huge sound when switching.
_________________
Beau In Space wrote:
I hear this guy uses a capo.

Josh wrote:
THATS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU POUR WINE ON IT INSTEAD OF BEER.

euan wrote:
stop trying to put guitar mojo arrows on yuri's dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theshadowofseattle
THE TAMPA BAY HERO


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 62472
Location: Skrampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What would the two being in parallel do for you? Seems like it'd just reduce the effectiveness of each control.
_________________
gusman2x wrote:
wizard thickness

George wrote:
Yeah, thickness, nut
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YuriK
.
.


Joined: 12 Dec 2013
Posts: 2344
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats a downside of it, but it makes the tone a bit brighter and more in your face if you know what I mean
_________________
Beau In Space wrote:
I hear this guy uses a capo.

Josh wrote:
THATS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU POUR WINE ON IT INSTEAD OF BEER.

euan wrote:
stop trying to put guitar mojo arrows on yuri's dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick
Y'SEE!?


Joined: 20 Apr 2006
Posts: 7981
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's other ways of getting more brightness. Easiest mod would probably to have a tone cap switch.
_________________
https://hauntedcat.bandcamp.com/album/haunted-cat-3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YuriK
.
.


Joined: 12 Dec 2013
Posts: 2344
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll probably do that too, but I heard that this wiring was good so I want to try it out and having a switch would mean I wouldn't have to commit to it.
_________________
Beau In Space wrote:
I hear this guy uses a capo.

Josh wrote:
THATS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU POUR WINE ON IT INSTEAD OF BEER.

euan wrote:
stop trying to put guitar mojo arrows on yuri's dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShortScale Forum Index -> Guitar Projects and Tech/Set-up All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Blocked registrations / posts: 622575 / 0

Guitars at Musician's Friend

Help support this site by clicking the above link!